Configuring Course Equivalencies

Mark courses as equivalent to one another in your platform.

Last Updated

May 22nd, 2019

Reading Time

2 min

User Level

DISCLAIMER: Some content in this article outlines how to use functionalities with the new Course Management. Check out this article for further info.

Introduction

In your platform, you can mark two courses as being equivalent to one another so learners don’t need to complete both of them. Two or more courses can be considered as equivalent when they have the same value. This means that when a learner completes one of the courses, all the equivalent courses are marked as complete as well.

For example, if Course A is set as an equivalent to Course B and Course C, then once a user completed Course A, he or she will automatically be marked as having completed Course B and Course C as well. The user will not need to manually go back to complete Course B and Course C later. Please note that for Course B and Course C, the learning object statuses (not yet started, in progress, or complete) will not change, and the user will not receive a final score for these courses.

Setting Up Course Equivalencies

To configure equivalent courses, access the Admin Menu by scrolling your mouse over the gear icon in the top right corner. Then, press the Course Management subitem in the E-Learning section. Now, Find the course in the list of courses, click on its description and once in the course area, move to the Advanced Properties tab.∑∑∑

Select the Equivalencies tab. Type the title or the code of the course that you want to equate to the selected course into the text box, then press Add Course. The course will now be listed below the text box and, from now on, it is marked as an equivalent to the course that you’re configuring. In the list of courses, you can flag the option to set the equivalency as bidirectional, meaning the course you are currently configuring will be listed and considered as equivalent of the course in the list. If you unflag the Bidirectional option, this will be applied in the Advanced Settings menu for both courses.

Going back to the example above, this means that if you complete Course B before Course A and Course C, then Course A and Course C will automatically be marked as completed as well.

Finally, click on the X in the course’s row in the list of course equivalencies to delete the equation of courses. Please note that this action is not retroactive. Once a course is marked as complete, this will not be undone if you delete the equation of the courses. Also, if you set two courses as equivalent, and a learner completed one of the two courses before you configured the equivalence, then the equivalent course to the one already completed will not be marked as completed too.

course equivalencies message

Once you’ve equated two courses, the learners will see a message at the top of a course main page letting them know that upon completing this course, the equivalent course will be completed as well. You can refer to this article to learn more about a course advanced settings.