Creating and Managing Playlists

Create and manage playlists

Last Updated

February 20th, 2020

Reading Time

5 min

User Level

Introduction

In your learning platform, you may be able to actively organize courses and assets into one or more playlists, that you can keep for yourself or share with others. You can also promote your playlists by inviting other people to watch them. Playlists allow you to gather different learning content in various formats into one centralized area of your platform to watch or reference later, as well as collect assets related to specific topics or jobs to be done.

Creating Playlists

All users can create personal playlists in the platform that contain informal learning assets (not formal learning objects from courses) or courses. Playlists can be public or private, depending on the playlist owner’s preference.

To view your playlists, click on My Channel in the main menu. Your playlists are listed on this page together with your contributions. Click on the filter icon and select the Playlist option in the Type filter area to see your playlists only. 

In order to create a playlist, access an asset or course that you want to add to a playlist. On the asset’s page or the course player page, press the Add to Playlist button in the top right corner of the page. In the slideout panel, flag the Create New Playlist option, then fill out all of the required fields (title, description, playlist visibility, and channels).

You can also add tags to your playlist, which will help increase the playlist’s searchability when users search for various assets using the platform’s Global Search. Press Create Playlist when finished.

Managing Playlists

To edit your playlist, access My Channel from the main menu, then press the title of the playlist in the playlist’s card. Now, you’re viewing the playlist as any other learner would view it. Using the playlist’s navigation bar at the bottom of the page, press the arrow button, then press the pen icon in the slide-up panel.

On the next page, you can scroll over your playlist’s title, description, tags, or visibility, then press the pen icon that will be displayed next to the editable fields to edit them. Press the plus button to search for assets to add to your playlist. Once you’ve entered your search term in the search bar, the results will appear below. Press the plus icon in the asset’s row to add it to your playlist.

Press the trash can button in the top right corner of the page to delete your entire playlist. Please note that if you delete your personal playlist, the assets contained in the playlist will not be deleted from the platform. If you just want to delete a specific asset from your playlist, press the X icon in the asset’s row in the list of assets included in the playlist. You can also press the asset’s item in the list to drag and drop it within the list, changing the order of assets.

At the top of the edit page, flag whether you want to publish or unpublish the playlist. If you publish a public playlist, it will be visible in the channels you have associated to the playlist. If you do not publish a public playlist, it will not appear in these areas of the platform. This is the default setting for a new playlist. If you publish a private playlist, it will be visible to the users you invite to watch, otherwise they will not be able to see it. 

To view the playlist’s navigation panel, press the bar at the bottom of the playlist’s page. In this panel, you can view various information about the playlist, including who owns the playlist, the total number of views for the playlist, when the playlist was first published, the total number of items in the playlist, the description and the visibility.

You will also see a list of the assets or courses included in the playlist. If there’s an asset or course in the playlist that you’re not able to view due to Administrator settings, the item will still be listed, but you won’t be able to see any details about that asset or course. If you are the playlist owner, you can press the edit or delete icons at the top of the panel. You can also invite people to watch the asset or playlist by pressing the Invite to Watch button in the panel. Use the slideout panel to complete this action. Please note that, according to the platform settings, you may not be able to invite any user to watch your asset. 

Adding an Asset to a Playlist

To add an asset into your personal playlist, access the asset’s page. You cannot upload an asset from your computer or device directly into a playlist, but the asset must already be published in the platform. On the asset’s page, press the Add to Playlist icon in the top right corner of the page. Please note that only the playlist owner can add assets to his/her playlist.

In the slideout panel, flag whether you want to add the asset to an existing playlist, or create a new playlist (see section above if you flag this option). Press the Add to Playlist button at the bottom of the panel. The asset has now been added to your playlist.

You can invite other users to watch your playlist by pressing the Invite to Watch icon in the top right corner of the playlist’s page. Then, type the usernames into the People textbox. When finished, press Invite at the bottom of the panel.

Please note that assets contained in personal playlists still have certain channel visibility settings. This means that if an asset in your playlist came from a channel of which another user does not have viewing permissions, he or she will not be able to view the asset in your playlist either. While your playlist is still visible, some assets may be hidden based on channel visibility settings.

Questions, answers, and ratings do not apply to playlists.

Adding Courses to a Playlist

To add a course into your personal playlist, access the course player page. On this page, press the Add to Playlist button in the top right corner. In the slideout panel, flag whether you want to add the course to an existing playlist, or create a new playlist (see section above if you flag this option). Press the Add to Playlist button at the bottom of the panel. The course has now been added to your playlist.

Additionally, when you’re viewing a course’s tile in the Channel dashboard, in a personal or public channel, you can press the ellipsis icon in the course’s tile, then press the Add to Playlist option and follow the steps outlined in the previous paragraph.

Please note that courses added in personal playlists still have certain visibility settings. Remember, even if other learners can view your playlist, they will not be able to access the course from your playlist if they are not enrolled in that course.