Creating and Managing Courses

Learn how to create and manage courses quickly and easily.

Last Updated

August 8th, 2019

Reading Time

5 min

DISCLAIMER: Some content in this article outlines how to use functionalities with the new Course Management. Check out this article for further info.

Introduction

Docebo allows you to create and manage courses, as well as categorize them quickly and easily. In one area of your platform, you can create courses, change course layouts, upload and manage course materials, configure advanced course settings, and much more.

Begin by accessing the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of the platform. Then, press the Courses Management item from the E-Learning section. From the Courses Management page, you can create new courses, new categories, create and manage courses and enrollment additional fields, organize courses into categories, import ILT sessions via CSV and enroll users into courses.

This is the main page of the Course Management, listing all of the available courses in your platform in the page’s main table. You can customize the table layout in order to show only the columns that are relevant to you. Click on the Columns Management icon on top of the table to select the columns you would like to include in the table view. Use the Cross icon to drag and drop the columns in the list, sorting them according to your needs.

If your courses are organized into categories, click on the Categories icon on top of the table to access the categories management. Click on the category name in the left panel to use it as a filter, or to manage existing categories (edit details, move or delete them and create new sub-categories).

Filter the content of the table by clicking on the filter icon on top of the table to see the complete filter list and to make your selection. Filters are applied in real time. Use the free text search area to look for courses.

Still in this page, move to the Additional Fields tab and to the Enrollment Additional Fields tab to set additional fields for courses and for enrollments. Click on the course description to see its details.

Creating a New Course

To begin, press the plus button in the top right corner of the main Courses page and select New Course. In the slideout panel, fill out the course name, the course description and select the course type. The course name should simple and clear. Users should instantly understand the topic of the course upon reading the title. The course description will help users to have a clear idea of what they will learn in the course. Optionally, assign a code to your course. Press Create & Edit to create your course in the platform and to start configuring and managing it straight away.

Move to the Thumbnails section and choose a thumbnail for your course. Move through the available tabs to configure the advanced properties for your course, add training materials and manage enrollments. Refer to the sections below for more info on each step.

Configuring the Course Advanced Properties

Move to the Advanced Properties tab to set the advanced options for your course. This area collects several options and settings for managing different settings, specific to your course. Learn more about these options from this article.

Adding Training Material and Course Widgets

Move to the Training Material tab to start adding training resources prior to enrolling students into the course. From this area, you can add and manage learning objects and configure the layout of the page of your course. To add a new learning object, click the Add Training Material button, and choose the type of training material you would like to upload. You can also organize training material into folders. Please refer to this section of our Knowledge Base to learn more about the types of learning objects supported in the platform and how to manage them.

Press Add Course Widgets to add specific areas to the page of your course, providing your learners with additional information about the course (such as the instructor name, related files and Iframed content) and making their experience more interactive through comments, forums and Q&A sections. Learn more about the course widgets available in your platform and how to use them from this article.

Assigning a Course to Catalogs, Learning Plans and Channels

You can assign and un-assign courses in catalogs, learning plans and channels directly from the the course edit view. To do so, click the ellipses menu at the end of a course row, and then click Edit. On the next page, click on the plus button in the top right corner of the page, and select Assign to Catalog, Assign to Learning Plan or Assign to Channel. Make your selection in the right panel that will open and press Confirm to complete your action.

The course associations to catalogs, learning plans and channels are available in the corresponding tabs of the course edit view. From those tabs, you can check the associations already available for the selected course (if any) and also remove existing assignments. To do so, click on the ellipsis menu at the end of the course row and select Unassign

Duplicating a Course

To duplicate a course, access the Course Management page from the Admin Menu. Find the course in the list of courses, then press the ellipsis button at the end of the course’s row and select Duplicate. In the right panel, use the corresponding text area to assign a title to the course.

Below, flag whether you want to duplicate training materials, enroll users from the master course into the new course, and copy course widgets. When finished, press Confirm. The new course will be listed in the course management page.

Please Note: When copying a course, if you flag the option to duplicate the training material, any changes made to any of the learning objects that were duplicated will be handled as follows:

– SCORM, TinCan, Slides (from Slides Converter): if you modify the copied training material, it will be also modified in the course from where it was copied

– AICC, HTML page, survey, test, LTI, video youtube and assignment: if you modify the copied training material, it will only be modified in the copied course.

– Video file and file: if you modify the copy of the training material, the platform creates a new file and you will modify only the file associated to the copied course

Sending the Course URL to Learners

Once the course is created and properly configured, you are ready to enroll learners and to share the course URL. The course URL format is different, depending on whether you are sending the URL to enrolled or unenrolled users.

When enrolled users click on the course URL, they will land on the course page in the platform, and will be ready to start learning. The courses URL for enrolled users must be formatted as follows:

https://domain.docebosaas.com/learn/course/course_id/course_name

When unenrolled users click on the course URL, they will land on the course page in the platform, and will need to self-enroll into the course. As a Superadmin, you can configure the self-enrollment options as described in this article.  The courses URL for enrolled users must be formatted as follows:

https://domain.docebosaas.com/learn/course/view/course_type/course_id/course_name

Please note that if enrolled users access the course by clicking on the URL formatted for unenrolled users, they will still land on the course main page and will not need to enroll.