Managing Groups

Categorize and divide users into groups to organize training.

Last Updated

October 27th, 2020

Docebo Module

Learn

Reading Time

5 min

Introduction

In your platform, users can be categorized based on groups, or by branches of the organization chart. Groups are useful whenever there is a set of users with characteristics that are different than those determining the branches of the organization chart. You can create groups manually, or using automatic rules.

Use Case Scenarios

If your company wants to provide a dynamic and custom experience for their various types of users, as a Superadmin you need to identify specific user segments in the platform to target an audience for various Admin actions such as course enrollment, course catalog visibility, page/menu visibility, reporting and notification delivery.

In order to identify specific user segments, you can configure several different user additional fields that capture important user attributes. These fields may include information such as Job Title, Hire Date, Department, Location, Manager, Product, Employee Status, or anything else that may be valuable to track within the platform. With these attributes tracked for each user, you can set up groups with automatic assignment to automate the process of identifying a user segment. You can set up broad-reaching groups that contain only one rule (for example: The “Sales” group should contain anyone whose job title contains the word “Sales”), and also narrow groups with multiple rules (for example: The “Los Angeles Sales Team New Hires” group should contain all users whose Location is Los Angeles, Job Title is Sales, and Hire Date is after x date). By creating multiple groups, you as a Superadmin can easily target various user segments for use in the platform.

Creating Groups

To create a new group, log into the platform as the Superadmin and access the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of the platform. In the Admin Menu, press the Groups item in the E-Learning section.

On the main Groups page, press the plus button in the top right corner. In the New Group right panel, assign a name and, optionally, a description to the group. Then, choose the policy for the group’s population process (either manual or automatic) and press Create and Edit.

Manually Adding Users to Groups

If you have selected the option to manually assign users to the group, after the group creation, move to the Users tab and click on Assign Users in the top right corner. Chose now whether you want to populate the group by selecting users individually, by copying the users already assigned to other groups, or by copying users from a branch.

You can repeat the group population procedure several times, using different options.

Once users are added to the group, they are listed in the Users tab of the group main page. In order to remove a user from the group, hover your mouse at the end of the user row, click on the menu button and select Remove. In order to remove several users at a time from the group, select them by checking the checkbox next to the users’ names, then click on the Choose Action button at the bottom right corner of the page, and select Remove.

It is possible to export the users’ list in CSV format by clicking on the Export Users’ List as CSV button in the top right corner.

A user can be assigned to more that one group. Users of a group can be added or removed at any time.

Auto-populated Groups

When selecting the automatic population for a group, after setting the group name and description, you will land on the Properties page of the group. Move to the Eligibility area to create the conditions for the automatic population of the group. Users will be automatically added or removed from the group depending on the conditions you configure.

You can define up to 10 sets of conditions, each set can include up to 10 conditions. If you are planning to define more than one set, define whether all of them or at least one of them must be met to add users to the group.

Add a new condition by clicking on New Set. In the right panel click on the Condition dropdown and select one of the following options:

  • Enrollment Status Based Condition. Use this condition to assign users to the group depending on their status in a course.  As an example, you may want to include all of the users who have completed the Customer Care onboarding course to the Customer Care group.
  • Branch Based Condition. Use this condition to assign users to the group depending on the branch they belong to.
  • User Additional Fields Based Condition. Use this condition to assign users to the group depending on the value of a user additional field. As an example, if you set a user additional field to collect the hire date of users, you can then automatically populate a group including all of the users hired in 2020.

Add the conditions you need to the set and click on Create to confirm its creation.

Repeat the set creation procedure as many times as you need to create different sets. If you have more than one set of rule, select whether all of them or at least one of them must be met to add users to the group using the dropdown menu in the top right corner of the Eligibility area.

When you have configured all of the sets of conditions, click on Save Changes to start the automatic population of the group. Users will be added to the group as they satisfy the conditions you have defined and will be listed in the Users tab. It is not possible to manually remove users from automatically populated groups, they will be automatically removed when they no longer satisfy the conditions on which the group population relies.

It is possible to export the users’ list in CSV format by clicking on the Export Users’ List as CSV button in the top right corner.

At any time, you can edit or remove your set of conditions by hovering your mouse on the top right corner of the set, clicking on the menu button and selecting Edit or Delete. The group population will be recalculated every time you edit or delete any of the conditions you have configured.

The last 10 versions of the group eligibility conditions are kept in the History tab. Please note that you cannot roll back to previous versions. If you need to revert your changes, you have to re-configure your sets manually.

Power Users Managing Groups

Depending on the permissions assigned by the Superadmin, Power Users may have some management permissions on groups.

  • If a Power User profile has View permissions on groups, the Power Users assigned to the profile will be able to see only the groups assigned to them.
  • When the profile has Edit permissions, Power Users will be able to edit the groups’ names and descriptions both for manual and automatic groups. For manual groups, they will also be able to add or remove the users they have visibility on to and from the group.
  • When the Power User profile has Create permissions, the Power Users associated with the profile will be allowed to create manual groups, but will not have creation permissions on automatic groups.