User Registration Types

Discover the three registration types.

Last Updated

May 31st, 2019

Reading Time

5 min

User Level

Introduction

Docebo is a closed and protected network, meaning that only registered users can access the platform. Superadmins have the ability to decide between three user registration types:

  • Free Self Registration
  • Moderated Self Registration
  • Only-by-Administrator Registration

The first two options allow the user to register and use the network freely, while the third type is for administrators who need to directly manage the registration process. This article outlines how to activate each of these three registration types.

Free Self Registration

To activate self-registration, access the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of the platform, then choose the Advanced Settings option from the Settings section.

You will be redirected to the Advanced Settings page, where you will select the Self-Registration tab from the tabs menu on the left. In the first section, flag the option to allow free self registration. Then, configure the following options:

  • Add a registrations and lost passwords email sender, if desired.
  • Enable quick registration (learn more here), if desired.
  • Flag whether you want to send a confirmation email to the users or not. If you flag the option to disable sending the confirmation email, you can send the notification manually later. Learn more here.
  • Add any restricted domains that cannot register into the platform (see more below).
  • Configure the email address that will be used to send registrations and lost passwords emails. This field is mandatory both for free and moderated self-registration; if not configured, the user registration will fail.
  • Establish a time limit (in hours) for the expiration of the subscription request.
  • Flag whether first and last names are required for registration.

registration main

Finally, flag how you would like to manage registration codes. Registration codes can be used when you’ve set up an organization chart. By flagging one of the options to ask a user to enter branch codes (either manually or from a dropdown list), when a user self-registers into the platform, he or she must then enter the code of the branch. Once completed, the user will then be registered directly into that branch.

If you flag the option to ask for a combination of a branch code and a course code, you must use the subscription code app in conjunction with the code for the organizational chart branch. By flagging this option, when a user enters the combined codes, he or she will then be directly registered into the sub-branch and enrolled into the courses or learning plans associated with the course code.

user registration Options

Please Note: If you’ve set up the option to allow free self-registration for a specific domain using the Multidomain app, the user will automatically be placed in that domain’s specific branch (or sub-branch) in the organizational chart. When configuring the Registration Code Usage section for a specific domain, if you’ve flagged the option to Ask for a branch code by the user in a dropdown menu, users will only be able to see branch codes associated with the domain’s branches in the dropdown list when registering on the login page of that specific sub-domain.

Once you have completed all of the sections, press Save. Users can refer to this manual to learn how to register into the platform and navigate the login page.

Moderated Self Registration

In the Self Registration tab in the Advanced Settings menu, if you flag the option in the first section to allow Moderated Self Registration, users will follow the same procedure as outlined above. Remember to configure the email address that will be used to send registrations and lost passwords emails. This configuration is mandatory both for free and moderated self-registration; if not configured, the user registration will fail.

The difference between free self-registration and moderated self registration is that moderated self registration means that the Superadmin will need to approve the user into the platform after they have self registered.

Access the Admin Menu from the gear icon, then select the Users item from the E-Learning section. In the action bar in the top right corner of the Users Management page, the Users Pending Approval button (clock icon) will show a red number in the corner, indicating how many users are waiting for confirmation. Press the button to see the users who have requested registration.

registration pending users

On this page you can view who has freely self registered, confirm or reject the registration, resend the verification email, and view user details. You can also apply the same action (confirm or reject) to multiple requests simultaneously. Simply flag the check box next to the names of the users, press the ellipsis icon in the bottom right corner of the page, and choose an action from the dropdown menu. Once you approve or reject a user, they will disappear from the list.

How to Manage the Restrict Domain Feature

You can restrict user registration in the LMS to a specific email domain. So, if users register themselves using an email with a different domain, their subscription will be automatically rejected. Define the domains that are allowed to freely self register by inserting your list in the Restrict Domains section in the Self Registration tab of the Advanced Settings menu.

user registration Restrict domains

If a user tries to register in the LMS using a domain that you haven’t entered in the list, the system will automatically display an error message.

Please Note: This feature only works with the free self-registration and the moderated self-registration policies.

Registration by Administrator

Setting this registration type will allow you (as the Superadmin) to register users to your platform rather than allowing them to register themselves. To set this option, access the Admin menu from gear icon in the top right corner of the platform. Then, choose the Advanced Settings option from the Settings area.

registration only admin

In the first section of the Self Registration tab from the tabs menu on the left side of the page, flag the Only by Administrator option, then press Save to confirm. Now, to let users login to your platform, you must first create them yourself. To learn more about creating users in your LMS, you can refer to this manual. You can also massively import and manage users via CSV.

Once you’ve created and registered users, those users can simply fill in the username and password (which they should receive by email) to log into the platform. If a user has lost their password, they can press the Lost Password link on the login form to obtain a new one.

Best Practices

If you want to add specific information for the users that are going to self-register, you can edit the text “Begin your new learning experience by simply filling out this form.” in your platform’s Localization Tool.

By doing so, you might add a default mandatory branch code, to be inserted in the specific field during the registration, in order to assign a specific branch to the users upon creation. In this way, all the new users will be created inside that branch and, later on, it will be easier to re-assign them to the desired branch.

It is also possible to add other contact information, according to your needs.