Enabling the Course Rating

Allow users to rate courses and to share their evaluations.

Last Updated

May 22nd, 2019

Reading Time

2 min

User Level

DISCLAIMER: Some content in this article outlines how to use functionalities with the new Course Management. Check out this article for further info.

Introduction

As an option, you can enable a course rating system in your platform to allow learners to express their opinion on the courses they attend, helping other users to understand the value of courses. Ratings can be configured at global level, for all the courses in your platform, or at course level. This means that you can have a default configuration while still managing exceptions.

Configuring Course Rating Globally

In order to enable and configure course ratings settings that will be applied by default to all new and existing courses, access the platform as Superadmin, then reach the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner. In the Settings section, select the Advanced Settings subitem, then access the Social & Rating tab on the next page.

By default, users are not allowed to rate courses. But you can flag one of the following options to enable course ratings:

  • Every user can rate a course, even if they’re not enrolled in the course
  • Users can rate a course in which they’re enrolled
  • Users can rate a course only if they’ve completed the course

Once you’ve selected the desired option, press Save. This option will now be applied by default to all existing courses that do not have active custom rating settings and to all new courses.

Configuring Course Rating at Course Level

Independently from the global course ratings settings you configured, you can set custom course ratings settings for individual courses. To do so, access the Admin Menu, then select Course Management in the E-Learning section.  Find the course in the list, click on its description, and once in the course area, move to the Advanced Properties tab.

Then, reach the Social & Rating tab and flag the option to enable custom settings for this course. Then, use the instructions outlined in the previous section of this article to configure the course ratings settings as desired. Press Save Changes when finished.

Please note: After a user submits a star rating, the page will display only the user’s rating. Once the user leaves the page or refreshes the page of the course, the rating displayed will be the average rating for the course.