How to Manage Training Material Settings and Prerequisites

Discover how to manage End objects markers and Bookmarks.

Last Updated

August 28th, 2018

Reading Time

4 min

Version

, ,

User Level

Introduction

Once you’ve added training material into a course, you can then manage training material settings for each individual training object. To do so, access the Training Material page of a course in which you are enrolled as an Instructor or Superadmin. On this page, select the menu icon in the learning object’s row in the list, then press Settings from the dropdown menu. In the pop up box, you can manage and a handful of settings for a learning object.

learning object settings

Please Note: The settings displayed in the Settings menu for each learning object will differ depending on the type of learning object. Some settings will not be displayed, as they are not relevant to the learning object. Also note that the Autoplay and Bookmark options have been moved to the Course Advanced Settings.

Hidden Objects

In the Hidden section, you can flag the option to hide the learning object from learners enrolled into the course. This may be necessary if the learning object is no longer relevant to your training needs. Perhaps your company has modified it’s training plan, or you’ve uploaded new content. In these scenarios, deleting the object from your LMS means you will delete all of the tracking data, thus changing the data and status of completion for some users. It may be useful to simply hide the object from learners instead.

Additionally, please note that a hidden object will not be counted towards course completion for learners that never saw the object. If you have updated a course’s content and hidden an object, this object will only count towards course completion if a user completed the object before it was hidden. Otherwise, users that are accessing the course after you hid the object will not need to complete this object before completing the course.

Publish (Publishing Time)

If the learning object is only relevant to your training plan for a certain amount of time, you can set for which dates you want to object to be published. Using the From and To boxes in this section, press the calendar icons and choose the publication dates for the object. After the final date for the publication has passed, the object will then be hidden in the course.

Number of Views

This section allows you to choose how many times a learner can view this learning object: An infinite amount of times, until the learner has completed or passed the course, or only a single time.

If you flag the option for a learner to view the learning object just one time, it may be useful to notify your learners about this option before they begin the learning object, so they know to pay close attention and take notes, if necessary. In this case, the learner cannot return to view the learning object, even if they failed the exam or the course. You will have to manually go into a course’s report to reset the course tracking for that user.

End Object Marker

End Object Marker is the last mandatory object of a course (i.e. when a user completes this object, the whole course will be marked as completed). The End Object Marker is commonly used when you have a course with a list of mandatory learning objects in addition to optional learning objects.

In this case, the End Object Marker will be the last mandatory learning object of the course. This way, when a student completes this object, the platform will consider the course completed, which will be reflected as such in the status and reports.

Note: if you only have one learning object in a course, the system will automatically set it as the End Object Marker. On the other hand, if you have multiple learning objects, and you do not specify an End Object Marker, the course will be considered completed once the student completes all the objects in the course. Please note that this setting is not retroactive.

Remember: If you place a Learning object after an End Object Marker, it will not be mandatory for the learner to complete the learning object in order to complete the course.

Dimensions

You can set custom dimensions of video and file learning objects, as necessary. Simply type in the numerical value of pixels into the text boxes.

Launch Mode

For some learning objects, you can choose the launch modality, so your learners can view the objects in specific ways. Simply flag one of the following options: In line opens the object inside the player, Lightbox opens the object inside a Lightbox, New window opens the object in a new window or new tab in your browser (depending on your browser settings), or Fullscreen.

Setting a Learning Object’s Prerequisites

You can also choose to make learning objects playable to learners only after the they have completed previous training material in the course. Managing prerequisites related to each learning object will allow you to require learners follow a specific order while attending the course.

In order to avoid learners accessing a test before they have completed other training material in the course, you can set those learning objects as a prerequisite before the test. Non-accessible learning objects will be marked with a lock symbol. You can also change the order of your learning objects by dragging and dropping the order of objects in the list on your course’s Training Material page.

Remember: When you set an object as an end object marker, be sure that all of the mandatory learning objects have been set as prerequisites.