How to Manage the Training Material View

Discover how to manage the training materials view

Last Updated

July 19th, 2017

Reading Time

3 min

Version

, ,

Docebo allows you to manage the training material view, providing three different views for your learners when they enter courses.This manual will outline the differences between each view and explain how to manage the training material view in your Docebo LMS.

Player View (Browser Mode)

The player view is the default setting of the platform. It shows the list of the training material in the black strip under the player. In the black strip, you will see the training materials in the course. Each training material is marked with a symbol:

  • A padlock. Indicates that in order to start this learning object, you must complete the previous one.
  • A grey play button. Indicates that you have not started this learning object yet.
  • A yellow play button. Indicates that you have started but not completed this learning object.
  • A green check. Indicates that you have completed this learning object.

training material view Player view

Player View (Preview Next Mode)

This is a quick way to navigate through the course content. The system will only show one object at a time. Each subsequent object will appear once the previous one has been completed. This feature is available only for Docebo 6.6.1 or higher.

training material view Player view

List View

This view shows a list of all the training material, including a thumbnail and description for each object on the list. This feature is available only for Docebo 6.5 or higher.

training material view List view

Managing the Training Material View for Your Platform

In order to choose a training material view option, access the Admin Menu by scrolling your mouse over the gears icon in the left sidebar. Then, in the Settings section, press the Branding and Look & Feel button. Once you’re on this page, select the Course Player tab from the tab menu on the left side of the page.

training material view choose

In the first section, Training Material View, you can flag which view you want in your LMS. The default setting is the Player view (browser mode), but you can switch to the other views anytime. When you flag one of the three options in this panel, all courses will have this training material view unless you change the settings within a specific course.

Managing the Training Material View for a Specific Course

To manage the training material view for a specific course in your LMS, access the Admin Menu by scrolling your mouse over the gears icon in the left sidebar, then press the Courses item in the E-Learning section. Once you’re on the course management page, find the course in the list of courses, then press the menu icon at the end of the course’s row. In the dropdown menu, press the Advanced Settings item. Once you’re in the advanced settings menu of the course, move to the Course Player tab.

Course playerIn the Training Material View section, begin by flagging the option at the top to enable custom training material view for this course. Then, flag between one of the three options and press Save Changes.

 

Managing the List View

In order to make the most of the list view for training materials, you should add a thumbnail and description to each learning object within a course when creating said learning object. If you have training material without a description or thumbnail, you can always add it later by editing the learning object. To do so, access the training materials page for the course. Once you’re on the training materials page, find the learning object in the list, then press the menu icon at the end of the object’s row. From the dropdown menu, press the Edit item.

Now, you can add a description of the learning object in the corresponding text box. Then, move to the Additional Info tab. Now, choose a thumbnail from one of the preloaded thumbnails, or upload your own by pressing the Upload Your Own Thumbnail button, then the Upload File button. When you’re finished adding the thumbnail and description, press Save  Changes.

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Email this to someone