Your platform gives you the opportunity to actively contribute to the learning experience of your company by uploading your content to channels and sharing it with your peers. In turn, you can take advantage of the contributions posted by other people to extend your knowledge and organize content into playlists. You can receive comments and questions on your contributions and comment and ask questions to other people on the content they uploaded. Let’s outline how channels are used to organize content in your platform.
Channels are streams of topics including the assets uploaded by experts and users. They can also include courses and learning plans created by the Administrator. With channels, you can easily and quickly access content divided by categories or topics. Channels are visible by accessing the Main Menu of your platform, then selecting All Channels.
While you may have specific channels created by the Admin in your platform, three channels are always available in your platform:
– Continue To Watch and Learn. This channel includes all of the items, either courses or content, that you still need to complete.
– New Invitations and Subscriptions. This channel includes all of the content that you have been invited to watch and the courses or learning plans in which you are enrolled.
– My Learning History. This channel includes all of the items, either courses or content, that you have already completed.
Additionally, you may see the My Areas of Interest channel. When this channel appears in your platform, you’ll be asked to fill out the areas of interest when you log into your platform. Refer to this article for further information on the My Areas of Interest channel.
Both in the All Channels page and in an individual page of every channel, you can filter content using the Filters button. Use the Sort By dropdown menu on the right side of the page to sort your content.
If the channel has an expert, the Assigned Experts button is available at the top of the page. When clicked, you’ll see the experts for that channel. Click on the name of the expert to view his or her personal channel of content.
As a learner, you can only view channels and content that your Admin has given you permission to view. This means that when you’re viewing another user’s personal channel, you may not see all of the content uploaded by that user if the user published the content in a channel that you don’t have permission to view.
Also, note that the number of views of an asset shown in the asset card in the channel page refers to the number of different users who viewed that asset. Therefore, if the same user viewed that asset twice, the number of views is incremented only by one unit, not two.
Viewing My Channel
Depending on how the Admin set up your platform, you may have a personal channel, named My Channel. You can reach it by opening the Main Menu and selecting My Channel.
This channel collects all of the content that you have uploaded in the platform and any playlists that you’ve created. If you upload Private content, it will only visible for you and the people that you specifically invite to view the content. When viewing your channel, other users will only see the content you uploaded in channels that they have permission to view.
Click on the Filters button to filter your content, or use the Sort By dropdown menu on the right side of the page to sort your content.
Hiding and Unhiding Content in Channels
Not all content available in channels may be relevant to you, and you may feel overwhelmed by the time you need to organize and view all of it. Hiding the content not currently relevant to you can be an option to free your channels from unwanted content and to concentrate on what you really need.
You can hide any type of content from All Channels, My Channel, and My Courses and Learning Plans pages, although you can’t hide content from catalogs. Please note that, depending on how your Admin set up the platform, you may not be allowed to hide formal content such as courses and learning plans.
In order to hide content, click on the ellipsis menu on the content card, and then select the Hide option. The content disappears, and a message at the bottom of the page will inform you that the item has been successfully hidden. When content is hidden, it is not removed from the platform and you can still view it thanks to filters. To do so, click on the Filters item, from the Hidden Items section in the slideout panel, and either select Show Also Hidden Items, or Show Hidden Items Only.
You can recognize hidden items from the barred eye icon on the item’s card. Note that if a locked course has been hidden, you will see the lock icon instead of the barred eye icon on the item’s card. In order to unhide content that you previously hid, click on the ellipsis menu and then select the Unhide option.
Please note that the items composing a playlist or a learning plan are always visible, even if they have been previously hidden. For example, if you hide an asset included in a playlist and then you enter the playlist, the item is still visible and available. The same happens for a course included in a learning plan.
Marking Content as Outdated
Keeping the platform content updated is a daily activity for your platform Admin, and your help in identifying the outdated content will be appreciated. This functionality will also help you keep your My Channel page up-to-date, as the assets that you uploaded to the platform can be marked as outdated by other users. By doing so, the quality of content published in the platform will improve.
You can mark both formal learning content (courses) and informal learner content (assets) as outdated in the All Channels and the My Courses and Learning Plans pages, although you cannot mark your own assets as outdated.
In order to mark content as outdated, click on the ellipsis menu of the content card and select the Mark as Outdated option. A message at the bottom of the page will inform you that the content has been marked as outdated and that the content owner (if you have marked an asset as outdated) or that your platform Administrators (if you have marked a course as outdated) will be notified.
Please note: You cannot mark the same content as outdated more than one time. If you do so, a message at the bottom of the page will inform you that you have already marked that content as outdated. Also note that you can’t remove your mark, because when you select the Mark as Outdated option, a notification is sent to the user who uploaded the content or to all of the Admins of your platform.
If you created the content, you can recognize items that are marked as outdated from the flag icon on the content’s card. Hover your mouse over this icon to see how many users identified the item as outdated. Use the Show Outdated Items Only filter in your My Channel page to view the content marked as outdated.
If an asset that you uploaded in your My Channel page has been marked as outdated by another user (always remember that you can’t mark an asset as outdated that you published), you will receive a notification listing the number and the names of the assets that have been marked as outdated (if more than one of your assets has been marked as outdated).
Note that the frequency of your content notifications is determined by your platform’s Administrator. Select the bell icon in the status bar at the top of your platform in order to read the notification. Select the Go to My Channel button at the bottom of the notification to view your assets. From your channel page, you’ll be able to update or delete these assets, thus always keeping your channel up-to-date.