Managing E-Commerce Transactions

Check and manage your E-Commerce transactions

Last Updated

July 22nd, 2020

Docebo Module

Apps

Reading Time

3 min

Introduction

When the E-Commerce app is active in your platform, managing the transactions recorded in your marketplace, both via electronic payments and via wire transfer, will help you to keep them under control.

Checking Transactions

In order to check your transactions, log in as the Superadmin, then click on the gear icon in the top right corner to reach the Admin Menu. Find the E-Commerce section and select the Transactions subitem.

Use filters to filter data according to a timeframe, to their Status or depending on whether they were settled via credit card o wire transfer. Use the free text search to search among transactions using one or more keywords.

You can customize the table layout in order to show only the columns that are relevant to you. Click on the Columns Management icon on the top left corner of the table to select the columns you would like to include in the table view. Use the cross icon to drag and drop the columns in the list, sorting them according to your needs.

Transaction details shown on this page include the transaction ID (assigned by the platform, chronologically), the user performing the transaction, transaction date and time, status and total amount paid. Transactions may have one of the following statuses:

  • Successful: The confirmation that the transaction was successful has been received
  • Failed: Transaction was unsuccessful or declined
  • Pending: Awaiting callback from payment gateway for success or failure
  • Canceled: The gateway returned a “canceled” callback because the user clicked Cancel in the payment gateway portal or the Superadmin manually canceled the transaction

In the Payment Status column, the credit card icon identifies transactions paid via electronic payments, while the bank icon is for transactions paid via wire transfer. When these icons are grey, it means that the payment has not been received yet; when they are green, the payment is recorded as correctly settled.

Please note that the transactions listed in this page include those executed by Power Users on behalf of other users.

Marking Items or Transactions as Paid

In order to view and edit the details of a transaction, hover your mouse at the end of the transaction row, click on the menu icon and select Edit. The Edit page shows the transaction details, allows you to add short notes and to manage the item list by manually marking the individual items composing the transaction or the transaction itself as paid. The whole transaction can be marked as paid also by clicking on the menu icon at the end of the transaction row, and selecting the Mark all Items as Paid option.

Please note that when the user buys a learning plan, the payment can be marked as received either for a single course or for the whole learning plan by marking all of the courses within the learning plan as Paid. Users will be in the course waiting list until the payment is received and confirmed.

Credit card payments are usually automatically marked as received, and the transaction ID is displayed in the Transaction ID field. The Transaction ID field is set to none until the payment is accredited, but you can manually flag the payment as received to confirm the course purchase.

Wire transfer payments must be manually confirmed by the Superadmin, and failing to confirm the payment results in the user not being able to access the course. Optionally, you can configure the Wire transfer transaction marked as paid notification to notify the user when the payment is confirmed. Use the Wire transfer transaction canceled notification to inform the user when the payment is refused, instead.

Marking a Transaction as Canceled

If you need to mark a transaction as canceled (for example, because the payment was not carried out properly), hover your mouse at the end of the transaction row, click on the menu icon and select Mark as Canceled.  When a transaction is marked as canceled, its status is changed to Canceled, but the transaction row is not removed from the table.

You can also cancel more than one transaction at a time by selecting the checkboxes next to the transactions or select all of the transactions on the page currently shown with the Select All option at the bottom of the table. Click on the Choose Action button shown at the bottom right corner of the table, and select Mark as Canceled.

When a transaction is marked as canceled, the user will remain in the waiting list of the course/learning plan, and he/she will not be able to access it.

Exporting Transactions

You can also export transactions by selecting the checkboxes next to the transactions or select all of the transactions on the page currently shown with the Select All option at the bottom of the table.

Click on the Choose Action button shown at the bottom right corner of the table, and select Export as CSV or Export as Excel.