In your platform, you may have a lot of learning content, thus the time it takes to update all of it may seem daunting. It can be useful to mark content as outdated if it is no longer up-to-date or valid, such as content describing an old feature or an older version of your learning platform. This functionality will also help you keep your My Channel page always up-to-date, because the assets that you uploaded to the platform can be marked as outdated by other users.
By doing so, the quality of content published in the platform will improve and the overall content curation in your platform will be enhanced.
Marking Content as Outdated
This feature enables you to mark content as outdated if you consider it old and no longer valuable to your learning experience. You can mark as outdated both formal learning content such as courses and informal learning content such as assets in the All Channels and My Courses and Learning Plans pages, although you cannot mark assets as outdated that you uploaded to your platform. This functionality is active by default in your platform.
In order to mark content as outdated, you can go on the content’s card, click on the ellipsis menu and then select the Mark as Outdated option. A message at the bottom of the page will inform you that the content has been marked as outdated and that the content owner (if you have marked an asset as outdated) or that your platform Administrators (if you have marked a course as outdated) will be notified.
Please note: You cannot mark the same content as outdated more than one time. If you do so, a message at the bottom of the page will inform you that you have already marked that content as outdated. Also note that you can’t remove your mark, because when you select the Mark as Outdated option, a notification is sent to the user who uploaded the content or to all of the Admins of your platform.
You can recognize items which are marked as outdated from the flag icon on the item’s card. You will see how many users have marked that content as outdated by hovering your mouse over this icon.
You can also apply a filter by pressing the Filters item on the My Channel page. From the Mark as Outdated section in the slideout panel, you can select the Show Outdated Items Only option if you want to view only content that has been marked as outdated.
If an asset that you uploaded in your My Channel page has been marked as outdated by another user (always remember that you can’t mark an asset as outdated that you published), you will receive a notification. Refer to the Notifications for your Outdated Content section in this article for further information about the notifications that you will receive.
Notifications for your Outdated Content
When an asset that you uploaded is marked as outdated by another user, you will receive a notification listing the number and the names of the assets that have been marked as outdated (if more than one of your assets has been marked as outdated).
Note that the frequency of your content notifications is determined by your platform’s Administrator. Select the bell icon in the status bar at the top of your platform in order to read the notification. Select the Go to My Channel button at the bottom of the notification to view your assets. From your channel page, you’ll be able to update or delete these assets, thus always keeping your channel up-to-date.