Synchronizing Courses from Docebo to Salesforce

Configure the the synchronization of courses, webinar and ILT-classroom sessions, and learning plans

Last Updated

April 30th, 2019

Reading Time

3 min

User Level

Introduction

This article will help you in configuring the the synchronization of courses, webinar and ILT-classroom sessions, and learning plans data between Docebo and Salesforce, so that both systems are aligned and synchronized.

The data master for courses, sessions and learning plans data is Docebo. This data is always synchronized from Docebo to Salesforce, not the other way round. Please note that the synchronization process includes courses’ data, and does not include learning objects.

In order to configure the synchronization process, after installing the Salesforce package, move to the Admin Menu from the gear icon, find the SalesforceV3 section, and press Manage.

Move to the Synchronization tab. The Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans section of this tab  is used to configure the synchronization of this data.

Please note that, when running the synchronization for the first time, it is not possible to synchronize Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans if the users synchronization has not been properly configured and successfully run.

Configuring Courses’ Synchronization from Docebo to Salesforce

The Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans section of the Synchronization tab is used to configure the synchronization of courses, sessions and learning plans from Docebo to Salesforce.

Enable the Courses toggle and click on Configure. From the right panel select whether to configure:

– All Courses. Select this option to synchronize data for all the courses available in the platform.

– Course Categories. Select this option to limit the synchronization to selected course categories. Choose one or more categories from the list by selecting the folders close to the category name, or use the search text area to look for a specific category. When this option is selected, learning plans will not be imported, only courses will be imported.

– Course Catalogs. Select this option to limit the synchronization to selected catalogs. Select one or more catalogs from the list  or use the search text area to look for a specific catalog. When this option is selected, the synchronization process will include all the courses and all the learning plans in the catalog. Please note that if a learning plan includes courses that are not included in the catalog, they will be imported as well so that the completion rate of a learning plan is calculated on the basis of all the courses assigned to it.

When ready, click on Confirm to go back to the Synchronization tab and launch the synchronization.

Running the Synchronization

The course synchronization is run in realtime by default, on event-basis. This means that, for example,  when the learner achieves a goal in the course (i.e. terminates a session or executes a test), course data is synchronized.

This synchronization is thus incremental. You can manually run a complete synchronization at any time from the Synchronization tab of the Salesforce configuration page, Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans area. A background job will be started for every entity you are importing (one for courses, one for learning plans, one for ILT-classroom sessions, one for webinar sessions).

Once the synchronization is over, the Synchronization Status will be shown in the right section of the Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans area. If the synchronization process fails or ends with errors, click on the View Logs button to move to the Logs section of the Salesforce configuration page that will open on the event generating the synchronization error or the failure. Refer to this article for further information on synchronization logs. Please note that the right section of the Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans area is enabled only after the users synchronization has been properly configured and successfully run.

After the first synchronization, the timestamp of the last synchronization, together with the number of imported courses will be displayed on the right side of the Sync Courses, Sessions and Learning Plans area.

After the first synchronization, the Start button will no longer be available but you can run the synchronization again at any time, by clicking on the ellipsis button under the number of imported coursed, and selecting Resynchronize. Remind that since this type of synchronization is executed in realtime (on event-basis), the Resynchronize option is used to resynchronize all data.

Disclaimer

This article describes the synchronization process and how to use the integration in detail. Please note, however, that the integration covers a large number of scenarios and it is not possible to list all of them here. If this documentation does not provide enough information for your specific case, please contact us via the Communication Center.